Epiphany on my yoga mat

ImageAn interesting thing happened this morning as I was sitting quietly on my yoga mat trying to slow down the chaos that is my brain. It seems as though the morning and night time are when my thoughts decide to go into overdrive. So, I have been trying to spend atleast 5 minutes every morning, sitting quietly before diving into the day. As usual, this morning I was having a difficult time not focusing on the research paper I need to finish today or the many blog ideas that keep popping up. I was trying to not focus on all this as well as tune out the construction guys across the street who are loudly drilling holes in the road when it occurred to me, this moment is all I have right now. This minute, this second is it. I have zero control over what happens 30 seconds from now because it is in the future. How much happier, not to mention more productive, would I be if I focused on the very moment that I am living in rather than the next 2,000 moments? This seems like such an obvious conclusion to come to, but how many of us are really mindful of this fact in our daily lives? As someone who suffers with occasional (make that very occasional) anxiety, worrying about future events that have yet to occur is a habit I am all too familiar with. No matter how much I worry, plan, control and prepare for the moments ahead, I am still in the present moment. What if we simply just did our best in the present and hoped it would benefit our future? Isn’t that really all we can do? Do our best in the present and hope for the best in the future? Again, this seems like an obvious aha! moment but actually being aware of this, could eliminate a great deal of our daily anxieties and suffering.

One thought on “Epiphany on my yoga mat

  1. Yes, Cherish this moment. I have had similar experiences and one day the thought came unheralded to cherish this moment. When I looked up the word ‘cherish’ in the dictionary it read ‘hold tenderly’. How beautiful that is! To hold the moment tenderly with compassion. Wow!

Leave a Reply

